BFLY

Butterfly Network, Inc.NYSE
View company geography

Valuation snapshot

Above bull case

Price is above even the bull case.

Price as of Sep 4, 2026 · Valuation Aug 13, 2026

$7.29
price, off scale
$0.32
base IV/share

What drives BFLY's base case?

base-case thesis

Butterfly's revenue grew from about $98 million in 2025 to a guided $119–123 million this year, and its most recent quarter set a record at $32.6 million with the highest-ever margin on each dollar of sales at 71%. Two things drive that: its handheld scanners are selling more units to hospitals and medical schools, and a new licensing business now has 11 partners paying for development work, hardware, and eventually chips. This scenario assumes that partner business settles into the steady quarterly pace management described rather than repeating the one-off spike, so growth cools from the high teens toward roughly ten percent by year five. Because the company keeps most of every sales dollar as gross profit and its costs grow more slowly than revenue, it crosses from losing money into solid profitability partway through the forecast.

What shapes the assumptions

  • Raised full-year revenue guidance

    FY2026 guidance of $119–123M versus $97.6M in FY2025

    Raises revenue growth

  • Recurring Embedded partner cadence across 11 partners

    Embedded revenue of $10.8M in Q2, guided to a $7–8M quarterly run rate

    Raises revenue growth

  • Mix shift toward high-margin licensing and software

    Gross margin 71%, up 770bps YoY; software/services 51.8% of revenue

    Raises operating margin

  • Fabless, standardized chip platform reused across partners

    Capital intensity implied by $124.7M cash and asset-light structure

    Lowers reinvestment

  • Years of accumulated losses shelter early profits

    Operating margin negative in all eight reported quarters

    Lowers tax rate

Each driver links a business metric to the forecast assumption it shapes — the basis for this case, not investment advice.

Why the gap?

No revenue growth rate in a sensible range reproduces today's price — the market appears to be valuing something this model does not capture.

What else could explain it?
How much of this is timing?
The price has fallen 22.9% since this valuation was struck on 2026-08-13, so some of the gap opened up after these figures were set.
How confident is this estimate?
Robustness 37.0/10 (Fragile) — some of any gap is our own uncertainty rather than disagreement.
What would change the answer?
Which assumption this valuation swings on, and by how much.
Share count is still growing
Diluted shares grew 5.5% year on year. This valuation uses today's share count, not tomorrow's — continued dilution would spread the same value across more shares.

Many combinations of assumptions reproduce the same price. These are ways to read what the market might be expecting, not the market's actual view. How this is worked out

Research & assumptions

Inspect the valuation thesis, cases, risks, evidence, and model inputs.

Three independently researched cases generated automatically from published financials. Every assumption is justified and cited; the discount rate is computed from researched market inputs.

Base inputs from financials

source period →

Base revenue (TTM)

$112.1M

Diluted shares

262,100,993

Net cash

Bear

low confidence

$0.01

IV / share

-99.8% vs $7.29

Enterprise

$3.1M

Equity

$3.1M

Discount rate

14.3%

Cost of equity

14.3%

Where the value comes from

Explicit cash flows
$0.01
Terminal value
$0.01
Net cash
$0.00
Intrinsic value / share
$0.01

57.9% of the value rests on the terminal value — elevated dependency.

bear operating margin (2%) sits well above the best recent margin (-42%)

Revenue growth8.0% → 3.0% → 4.0% → 5.0% → 5.0%medium

How derived: Starting from the fact that management guides FY2026 to $119–123M but Q3 to only $26–30M — a sequential step down from Q2's record $32.6M — I treat the 39% YoY jump as milestone/NRE-driven rather than run-rate, so once the Midjourney co-development milestones (a capped $74M five-year contract with a $15M upfront) are recognized, growth collapses toward the roughly flat product-revenue trend and the low-single digits, echoing the -10.2% revenue decline the company already posted in 2023.

Why this confidence: Company-issued FY2026 and Q3 revenue guidance anchors year one , Embedded revenue is milestone/NRE-based and inherently lumpy, making years 2-5 hard to phase , Five-year horizon on a company with only six years of revenue history , Prior-year precedent of an actual revenue decline (2023) supports the downside shape

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

Evidence against

Operating margin2.0%medium

How derived: Trailing-twelve-month operating margin is roughly -71% and the best quarter ever printed is Q2 FY2026 at -41.9%, and even that quarter's near-breakeven adjusted EBITDA loss of $1.4M excludes heavy stock-based compensation, so in a low-growth world where revenue stalls near $130M I assume the company only just crosses into positive reported operating profit and stays there — a barely-profitable outcome rather than the deep losses of today.

Why this confidence: Four quarters of directly reported operating margins provide a clear trend line , No history of any positive operating quarter, so the level of a sustainable margin is unobserved , Stock-based compensation gap between adjusted EBITDA and reported operating income is large and volatile

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

  • Butterfly guided FY2026 to an adjusted EBITDA loss of $19–23M, wider than the H1 pace, because management is deliberately increasing investment in the core and Embedded businesses.[BFLY Q2 2026 8-K Exhibit 99.1]· primary
  • The company has never reported a positive operating margin in any quarter shown, with Q3 FY2025 as bad as -163%.[BFLY quarterly results (company filings)]· primary

Evidence against

  • Gross margin hit an all-time high of 71%, up 770 basis points year over year, so the contribution economics to fund operating profit are improving fast.[BFLY Q2 2026 earnings call transcript]· primary
  • Adjusted EBITDA loss narrowed 78% year over year to $1.4M in Q2 FY2026, a much faster improvement than revenue growth alone would deliver.[BFLY Q2 2026 8-K Exhibit 99.1]· primary
Tax rate25.0%high

How derived: The starting fact is the 21% US federal statutory corporate rate; because in this scenario Butterfly generates so little taxable income that its accumulated loss carryforwards deliver almost no present-value shield and could be constrained or expire unused, I apply the full 21% plus roughly 4 points of blended state tax as the long-run marginal rate.

Why this confidence: Statutory federal rate is a published, unambiguous legal figure , State apportionment for a Connecticut/California-footprint company is an estimate , Rate is a policy variable that could change over a five-year-plus horizon

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

  • The US federal corporate income tax rate is a flat 21%, to which state income taxes are additive.[26 U.S. Code §11 - Tax imposed]· primary
  • Butterfly remains loss-making at the operating line, so it currently records essentially no income tax expense and derives no near-term benefit from its deferred tax assets.[BFLY Q2 2026 Form 10-Q]· primary

Evidence against

Reinvestment rate80.0%low

How derived: Butterfly is mid-way through developing the Apollo semiconductor platform, which management says will not deliver to Midjourney until late 2027 or early 2028, so the base fact is that heavy R&D must be funded years before any associated revenue; in a bear world with only 2% operating margin, nearly all of the small after-tax profit must be plowed back into chip and software development just to hold share, leaving little free cash.

Why this confidence: Company does not disclose a reinvestment or sales-to-capital target, so this is inferred , Ratio is measured against a near-zero profit base, making it mechanically unstable , Disclosed Apollo development timeline confirms the direction of heavy pre-revenue spend

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

  • Management explicitly said updated FY2026 adjusted EBITDA guidance reflects increased investment to support innovation in both the core and Embedded businesses.[BFLY Q2 2026 8-K Exhibit 99.1]· primary
  • The Apollo chip is on schedule for delivery to Midjourney only in late 2027 or early 2028, meaning multiple years of development spending precede the revenue.[BFLY Q2 2026 earnings call transcript]· primary

Evidence against

  • Management describes a standardized semiconductor platform reused across partners rather than custom chips per client, which limits incremental development cost per new partner.[BFLY Q2 2026 earnings call transcript]· primary
  • Butterfly is fabless and asset-light with a 71% gross margin, so capital expenditure needs are modest relative to a traditional device manufacturer.[BFLY Q2 2026 Form 10-Q]· primary
Terminal growth2.0%high

How derived: The base fact is that no mature company can outgrow the economy forever and the 4.68% 10-year Treasury yield sets the ceiling; in the bear case where Butterfly ends up a niche handheld-probe vendor facing 12% average selling price erosion, I hold terminal growth at 2%, roughly long-run inflation and below real US GDP growth.

Why this confidence: Bounded above by an observable, published risk-free rate , Standard macro anchor rather than a company-specific judgment , Perpetuity assumption is unverifiable by nature

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

Evidence against

  • Point-of-care ultrasound penetration remains low and Butterfly's Compass AI pipeline grew five-fold year over year, suggesting a category still expanding faster than the economy.[BFLY Q2 2026 earnings call transcript]· primary

Base

low confidence

$0.32

IV / share

-95.6% vs $7.29

Enterprise

$84.1M

Equity

$84.1M

Discount rate

14.3%

Cost of equity

14.3%

Where the value comes from

Explicit cash flows
$0.12
Terminal value
$0.20
Net cash
$0.00
Intrinsic value / share
$0.32

63.1% of the value rests on the terminal value — elevated dependency.

base operating margin (14%) sits well above the best recent margin (-42%)

Revenue growth18.0% → 16.0% → 14.0% → 12.0% → 10.0%medium

How derived: Starting from management's raised FY2026 guidance of $119–123M — about 24% above FY2025's $97.6M — I step growth down to 18% and then gradually toward 10%, because the ~$7–8M quarterly Embedded cadence management describes plus 11 signed partners should keep compounding, but the initial Midjourney milestone burst does not repeat and the core probe business is growing at only a high-single-digit to low-teens rate.

Why this confidence: Year one is anchored to company-issued full-year revenue guidance , Management gave an explicit quarterly Embedded run-rate range to build from , Growth history is highly volatile (+82%, +17%, -10%, +25%, +19%) , Years 3-5 depend on partner commercialization timing outside management's control

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

  • Management raised FY2026 revenue guidance to $119–123 million, implying roughly 22–26% growth over FY2025's $97.6 million.[BFLY Q2 2026 8-K Exhibit 99.1]· primary
  • Butterfly counts 11 Embedded partners and expects a recurring cadence of roughly $7–8 million per quarter, with upside as more partners commercialize.[BFLY Q2 2026 earnings call transcript]· primary
  • Unit sales of iQ3 and iQ+ rose 17% and 33% year over year respectively, showing the core device business is still expanding in volume.[BFLY Q2 2026 earnings call transcript]· primary

Evidence against

Operating margin14.0%medium

How derived: The base fact is that Q2 FY2026 gross margin hit an all-time high of 71% while adjusted EBITDA loss narrowed to just $1.4M on $32.6M of revenue; extending that operating leverage to a business roughly twice today's size, with operating expenses growing well below revenue, supports a mid-teens reported operating margin once the sizable stock-based compensation excluded from adjusted EBITDA is charged back in.

Why this confidence: Four consecutive quarters of improving gross and operating margin establish a clear direction , Management-guided adjusted EBITDA range bounds near-term profitability , Gap between adjusted EBITDA and reported operating income (stock compensation) is large , No historical positive-margin quarter to calibrate the steady-state level

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

  • Gross margin reached an all-time high of 71% in Q2 FY2026, up 770 basis points year over year on a mix shift toward higher-margin Embedded revenue.[BFLY Q2 2026 earnings call transcript]· primary
  • Adjusted EBITDA loss narrowed 78% year over year to $1.4 million, and reported operating margin improved from -68.9% to -41.9% over the same four quarters.[BFLY Q2 2026 8-K Exhibit 99.1]· primary

Evidence against

  • FY2026 adjusted EBITDA guidance of a $19–23 million loss implies materially wider losses in the second half as management deliberately re-invests, so the margin path is not linear.[BFLY Q2 2026 8-K Exhibit 99.1]· primary
  • Reported operating margin was still -41.9% in the best quarter on record, meaning a mid-teens positive margin requires roughly 56 points of improvement.[BFLY Q2 2026 Form 10-Q]· primary
Tax rate23.0%high

How derived: Starting from the 21% federal statutory rate plus roughly 4 points of blended state tax, I shade the long-run rate down to 23% because Butterfly's accumulated losses from years of negative operating income shelter a portion of early profits before the rate converges toward the full marginal rate.

Why this confidence: Anchored to a published statutory rate , Loss-carryforward offset is an estimate of timing, not a disclosed schedule , State apportionment mix is approximated

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

  • The US federal corporate rate is a flat 21% under IRC §11, with state income taxes additive on top.[26 U.S. Code §11 - Tax imposed]· primary
  • Butterfly has been loss-making every quarter shown, generating loss carryforwards that reduce cash taxes in the first profitable years.[BFLY Q2 2026 Form 10-Q]· primary

Evidence against

Reinvestment rate50.0%low

How derived: Starting from the fact that Butterfly is fabless and asset-light with a 71% gross margin and modest capital spending, but is simultaneously funding the Apollo chip platform and AI software ahead of 2027-28 shipments, I assume about half of after-tax operating profit is reinvested — enough to support low-to-mid-teens revenue growth on a standardized chip platform that management says is reused across partners rather than rebuilt per client.

Why this confidence: No disclosed capital-intensity or sales-to-capital target from the company , Fabless, software-weighted mix is directly observable in the 71% gross margin , Semiconductor development costs are lumpy and hard to phase over five years

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

  • Management says the Embedded business uses a standardized semiconductor platform rather than custom chips per client, so incremental partners require limited additional development spend.[BFLY Q2 2026 earnings call transcript]· primary
  • Butterfly holds $124.7 million of cash and $189.4 million of stockholders' equity with no disclosed borrowings, so growth can be funded internally without heavy external capital.[BFLY Q2 2026 Form 10-Q]· primary

Evidence against

  • Management explicitly widened its FY2026 adjusted EBITDA loss guidance to fund increased investment in innovation across the core and Embedded businesses.[BFLY Q2 2026 8-K Exhibit 99.1]· primary
  • Butterfly plans to launch new hardware and two new AI applications by early 2027, indicating sustained rather than declining development spend.[BFLY Q2 2026 earnings call transcript]· primary
Terminal growth2.8%high

How derived: Starting from long-run nominal US GDP growth of roughly 4% and the 4.68% 10-year Treasury ceiling, I set terminal growth modestly below the economy at 2.8%, reflecting that a mature Butterfly should still benefit from steady point-of-care ultrasound adoption but will face hardware price erosion of the kind already visible in its 12% average-selling-price decline.

Why this confidence: Bounded by an observable published risk-free rate , Macro anchor rather than a company-specific forecast , Perpetuity by definition cannot be verified

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

Evidence against

Bull

low confidence

$1.25

IV / share

-82.8% vs $7.29

Enterprise

$327.7M

Equity

$327.7M

Discount rate

14.3%

Cost of equity

14.3%

Where the value comes from

Explicit cash flows
$0.40
Terminal value
$0.85
Net cash
$0.00
Intrinsic value / share
$1.25

67.8% of the value rests on the terminal value — elevated dependency.

bull revenue growth (avg 24%) runs well above the trailing 1% trend

bull operating margin (26%) sits well above the best recent margin (-42%)

Revenue growth30.0% → 28.0% → 25.0% → 20.0% → 16.0%low

How derived: Starting from the actual 39% year-over-year growth in Q2 FY2026 and 439% growth in Embedded revenue, I assume the platform inflects rather than normalizes: management says there is no practical limit to partner count because the semiconductor platform is standardized, Apollo chips ship to Midjourney in late 2027/early 2028, and partners transition from development fees to high-volume chip purchases — the 'big pops' management describes — so growth stays near 30% before decaying as the base gets large.

Why this confidence: Depends on chip volume revenue that has not yet been booked and starts beyond the guidance window , Management commentary on partner count and chip-sharing economics is qualitative, not quantified , Actual 439% Embedded growth and 39% total growth are reported facts supporting the direction , Near-term guidance (Q3 below Q2) contradicts the assumed smooth acceleration

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

  • Embedded revenue grew 439% year over year to $10.8 million in Q2 FY2026 and total revenue grew 39%, the fastest growth since 2021.[BFLY Q2 2026 8-K Exhibit 99.1]· primary
  • Management says there is no practical limit to the number of Embedded partnerships because a standardized semiconductor platform is used rather than custom chips per client, and expects 'big pops' when partners move to full commercialization and chip-sharing models.[BFLY Q2 2026 earnings call transcript]· primary
  • The Compass AI sales pipeline increased five-fold year over year and unit sales of iQ3 and iQ+ rose 17% and 33%, showing the core business is also accelerating.[BFLY Q2 2026 earnings call transcript]· primary

Evidence against

Operating margin26.0%low

How derived: Starting from the reported 71% all-time-high gross margin and management's description of the Embedded business evolving from a 'job shop' into a scalable software and chip-licensing platform, I assume revenue mix keeps shifting toward license fees and chip royalties that carry near-software economics, letting a roughly $270M-revenue Butterfly hold operating costs well below revenue growth and reach a mid-twenties operating margin typical of scaled semiconductor-IP and medical-software businesses.

Why this confidence: No quarter in the company's history has shown a positive operating margin , Gross margin of 71% is a reported hard ceiling-setter that makes a mid-20s margin arithmetically achievable , Large stock-based compensation excluded from adjusted EBITDA weighs on reported margins , Assumed mix shift to chip royalties has not yet been demonstrated in reported revenue

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

  • Gross margin reached an all-time high of 71% in Q2 FY2026, up 770 basis points year over year on the mix shift toward Embedded.[BFLY Q2 2026 earnings call transcript]· primary
  • Software and other services reached 51.8% of Q2 FY2026 revenue at $16.9 million, nearly tripling year over year.[BFLY Q2 2026 Form 10-Q]· primary
  • Adjusted EBITDA loss narrowed 78% year over year to $1.4 million, demonstrating steep operating leverage on incremental revenue.[BFLY Q2 2026 8-K Exhibit 99.1]· primary

Evidence against

  • FY2026 adjusted EBITDA is guided to a $19–23 million loss with management explicitly increasing investment, so operating expenses are still rising, not being harvested.[BFLY Q2 2026 8-K Exhibit 99.1]· primary
  • Reported operating margin was still -41.9% in Q2 FY2026, so a 26% margin requires roughly 68 points of improvement with no historical precedent at the company.[BFLY Q2 2026 Form 10-Q]· primary
Tax rate21.0%medium

How derived: Starting from the 21% federal statutory rate, I hold the long-run effective rate at that level rather than adding state tax because a rapidly profitable Butterfly would apply large accumulated loss carryforwards, R&D credits from its ongoing chip and AI development, and a growing share of foreign-source licensing income, offsetting the state component.

Why this confidence: Federal statutory rate is a published legal figure , Assumed offset of state tax by credits and foreign mix is a judgment, not disclosed , Tax law could change materially over the forecast horizon

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

Evidence against

Reinvestment rate32.0%low

How derived: Starting from the fact that Butterfly is fabless with 71% gross margins, no disclosed debt and $124.7M of cash, and that management says one standardized semiconductor platform serves all partners rather than custom silicon per client, I assume only about a third of after-tax operating profit is reinvested — high returns on incremental capital mean rapid growth can be financed with relatively little capital once the Apollo platform's up-front design cost is behind the company.

Why this confidence: Company discloses no reinvestment or return-on-capital target , Asset-light fabless structure is directly evidenced by the balance sheet and 71% gross margin , Assumes chip development costs fall away, which management commentary does not confirm

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

  • Management has completed the primary design of the Apollo chip platform and moved into development, meaning the largest design outlay is already partly sunk.[BFLY Q2 2026 earnings call transcript]· primary
  • The Embedded model uses a standardized semiconductor platform across all partners rather than custom chips, so adding partners requires little incremental capital.[BFLY Q2 2026 earnings call transcript]· primary
  • Butterfly held $124.7 million in cash with $189.4 million of stockholders' equity and no disclosed borrowings at June 30, 2026.[BFLY Q2 2026 Form 10-Q]· primary

Evidence against

Terminal growth3.5%medium

How derived: Starting from the roughly 4.68% 10-year Treasury yield as the absolute ceiling on any perpetual growth rate, I use 3.5% — close to but below long-run nominal GDP — on the reasoning that a Butterfly embedded as the standard ultrasound chip inside many third-party devices, with software already 51.8% of revenue, retains modest pricing power and category expansion beyond the forecast window.

Why this confidence: Bounded by an observable, published risk-free rate , Set at the upper end of a defensible range, so more sensitive to error than the base case , Perpetuity assumptions cannot be verified against evidence

No tracked driver measures this assumption yet.

Evidence for

Evidence against

Valuation robustness

reliability of the estimate, not a stock rating

37 / 100 · Fragile

Scenario dispersion0
Terminal-value dependency3.7
Historical stability2.6
Margin predictability0
Forecast visibility7
Evidence quality10

Formula v1.0.0. Higher means a more reliable estimate — not a recommendation.

Quality checks

Automated model-risk flags — warnings, not recommendations.

  • The bear-to-bull range spans 386% of the base value — the outcome is highly uncertain.scenarios
  • The reinvestment assumption is low-confidence.reinvestment
  • Diluted share count grew 6% year over year, which reduces per-share participation in business growth.per-share economics

Per-share economics

Business growth after changes in the diluted share count.

PeriodRevenue growthFCF/shareFCF/share growthSharesShare growth
Q1 202520.2%-0.0550.9%234.92M12.5%
Q2 20258.8%-0.0336.0%248.39M17.4%
Q3 20254.5%-0.0260.5%252.09M18.5%
Q4 202541.0%4.13167.0%1.93M236.2%
Q1 202625.0%-0.06-13.0%256.52M9.2%
Q2 202639.5%-0.07-102.7%262.1M5.5%

Valuation history every run

Aug 13, 2026Bear$0.01Bull$1.25Base$0.32Price$9.70
-$0.76$2.05$4.86$7.67$10.48Jul 4, 2026Aug 13, 2026

Why intrinsic value changed

Previous base IV/share+$0.38
Base revenue (new financial data)+$0.03
Diluted shares (new financial data)-$0.01
Revenue forecast (ai research update)-$0.01
Why

No sourced event is linked to this change yet — the researched assumption moved without a cited driver observation behind it.

Tax-rate assumption (ai research update)-$0.01
Why

No sourced event is linked to this change yet — the researched assumption moved without a cited driver observation behind it.

Reinvestment assumption (ai research update)-$0.03
Why

No sourced event is linked to this change yet — the researched assumption moved without a cited driver observation behind it.

Discount rate (macro assumption)-$0.03
Current base IV/share+$0.32

Sequential deterministic bridge · order-dependent contributions · exactly reconciled

Market inputs researched

Risk-free rate

The 10-year US Treasury constant-maturity yield published in the Federal Reserve's H.15 release was approximately 4.68% on August 12, 2026, and I use the 10-year point because it best matches the duration of the forecast cash flows.

4.7%
high
Beta

The reported levered beta for Butterfly Network is 2.28, reflecting an unprofitable small-cap medical device company whose shares have moved far more than the market, and I use it as-is because the company has no disclosed debt so the levered and unlevered betas are effectively the same.

2.28
medium
Equity risk premium

Damodaran's forward-looking implied equity risk premium for the US market at the start of 2026 was 4.23% over the Treasury bond rate, and I use this market-implied figure rather than a historical average because it is backed out from current prices and expected cash flows.

4.2%
high
Share price

Butterfly Network's Class A shares traded at approximately $9.70 on August 10, 2026, near a 52-week high of $9.74, giving a market capitalization of roughly $2.5 billion on about 262 million diluted shares.

9.7
high
Cost of debt

Butterfly reports no borrowings, so I build a synthetic pre-tax cost of debt from the 4.68% 10-year Treasury plus roughly a 5.3-point default spread — Damodaran's synthetic-rating table assigns a deep speculative-grade spread to firms with negative interest coverage, which I temper toward the B range because Butterfly carries $124.7M of cash and $189.4M of equity with zero debt.

10.0%
low
Researched byClaude Opus 5
Why the model matters →

Generated 8/13/2026, 10:50:25 AM · pipeline v1.1.0